Honey Cornflakes Cups

At one point blogging took a back seat not because I wasn’t doing anything much but I got hooked onto baking. To be precise, baking cookies and some sweet treats. And once I was hooked onto something, it was very difficult to pull me away unless I got bored of it or I’ve gotten interested in something else.

It was also rather coincidental that I chose this snack to start with considering the Chinese New Year was fast approaching. I never intended to bake goodies but rather snacks for R for more variety other than his usual biscuits.

This was super super easy. I was also reminded of the activity that I did in school with my pupils prior to writing their procedural text. The children had fun making their own honey cornflakes cups but many of them burnt because the honey was poured directly onto the cornflakes instead of being mixed with butter. So, this recipe that I adapted from http://www.noobcook.com is much much better.

Ingredients:
50g of unsalted butter
3 tablespoons of honey
150g of cornflakes
Colored sprinkles known as hundreds-and-thousands

Method:
1. Heat the butter and honey in a saucepan. There’s no need for it to boil. The idea is to get a frothy mixture.
2. In a big bowl, pour the mixture over the cornflakes and mix it till the cornflakes are well coated.
3. Spoon the cornflakes into cupcake cases and sprinkle with the hundreds-and-thousands.
4. Bake in a preheated oven of 150° for 10-12 minutes or until the cornflakes are golden brown.
5. Cool and serve or store them in an airtight container.

Trust me, these would all disappear quite quickly coz its oh-so-yummy!

2 thoughts on “Honey Cornflakes Cups

Leave a Reply

