Baked Egg Muffins

IMG_5836.JPG

I love eggs. I love eggs cooked in a variety of ways. Soft boiled, hard boiled, scrambled, omelette, you get the drift. For breakfast today, I thought I’d try something different. I’ve seen this recipe floating around in Facebook but I’ve never really paid much attention to it. This morning though, I woke up with the inspiration and motivation of making something different for breakfast as well as something other than bread, biscuits and pancakes for R.

So here’s my recipe of the baked egg muffins. If you don’t have a muffin tin, ramekins would be perfect too. Also, I basically used whatever I could find in my fridge. This works well with whatever left overs you might have as well.

This makes 3 portions.

Ingredients:
3 eggs
Ham or bacon diced
Chives, finely chopped
Capsicum diced
Cheddar cheese (or any type really)
Tomatoes (if you wish)
A tablespoon of oil
A dash of salt and pepper

Preheat the oven at 200°C
Beat the eggs and add the ingredients. Pour the mixture into the muffin tin.
Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.

As its in the oven, the heat causes the mixture to rise but once it comes out of the oven, it sinks. But that’s alright. It should still taste as yummy. Use a spoon and gently remove it from the tin and voila, breakfast is served!

3 thoughts on “Baked Egg Muffins

Leave a Reply

