Orange cake

I enjoy baking and cooking. In fact, since the kids came along, I’ve never really baked very much. The husband and I would bake quite often in the past and my favourite were the scones we had. I’m waiting for him to be back to bake them again.

When R was bigger and I had help to look after him, (read: prevent him from getting close to the oven), I started baking again. Sometimes from premixes or recipes from the net. Nowadays, with two it gets even more challenging but with help and some planning (read: kids both napping) it’s doable.

Recently my mother in-law brought a bagful of oranges about 20 of them to my house. What was I going to do with so many oranges other than to juice or eat them? So that got me scouring the net for some easy recipes to use the oranges in a cake.

I found one that was relatively easy to follow plus I had the ingredients in my kitchen. Yay!

Here’s the recipe:
100ml of milk
100ml of oil (I used olive oil)
300g of sugar (I used slightly less than that)
300g of plain flour
3 eggs
1 orange (use 2 for a stronger flavour)
1 teaspoon of baking powder

Preheat the oven at 180°.
Grease and flour a 23″ tin.
Peel, deseed, cut the orange into pieces. Blend all the ingredients together.
Pour the batter into the tin and bake for 40 minutes.

IMG_5562-2.JPG

The cake turned out fairly good. It was dense and not too sweet but the orange flavour was rather mild. Seeing that the recipe only called for an orange, the flavour will probably be stronger with 2 oranges. Otherwise it was fairly easy to make and it didn’t require the mixer too. Preparation took 20 minutes at maximum and the oven does the rest of the work.

Leave a Reply

